Eating Disorder

It’s been too long… and now I’m learning more than I ever wanted to about eating disorders. I have a loved one who is struggling with anorexia. What a cruel world it can be when your mind tells you lies. Love and support and encouragement, oh and empathy go a long way in this battle. I have to also be firm, which is hard for me. I give so much freedom to my loved ones because they will eventually be on their own. So we’re taking it day by day and making progress. I have learned that not everyone understands the support needed when dealing with this condition. People can be cruel and selfish and provide exactly the opposite of what you actually need. People can judge you, as if you are somehow behind the disorder. I’m so fortunate to have all my past experience with self-love, self-care because I can see how this situation can easily push one over the edge if they don’t have the skills needed to stand strong. If they don’t have a foundation to stand on. It’s always been my faith that has held me up. Faith of something beyond me. I consider it God, Jesus, Creator. My loved one is in a support program, this along with regular doctor visits is our lives right now. We’re still finding ways to enjoy life. Like city trips, Broadway shows, or just driving around on sunny days listening to music. It’s wonderful to do things that feel normal. The bubbly loud personality is now reserved and more focused and this may have always been who they are. It’s a tough world out there but there are also so many beautiful souls, we just have to keep our eyes open for them. Much love to all of you. I’ll be sure to check back in soon.

Leave a comment